Question: Who Is The Current Speaker Of Nigeria House Of Representative?

Who was the speaker of the House during Obama?

Reading, Ohio, U.S.

John Andrew Boehner (/ˈbeɪnər/ BAY-nər; born November 17, 1949) is an American politician who served as the 53rd speaker of the United States House of Representatives from 2011 to 2015..

Who is the first female speaker of House of Representative?

Patricia EttehPatricia Olubunmi Foluke EttehSucceeded byDimeji BankolePersonal detailsBorn17 August 1953Political partyAD, then PDP14 more rows

Who is the first Speaker of House of Representative?

The first speaker of the House, Frederick Muhlenberg of Pennsylvania, was elected to office on April 1, 1789, the day the House organized itself at the start of the 1st Congress.

Who is the first Speaker of House of Representative in Nigeria?

Sir Frederic Metcalfe of Great Britain became Speaker of the House of Representatives of Nigeria in 1955. He was replaced by the first indigenous speaker, Jaja Wachuku, in 1959.

What does Paul Ryan do for a living?

LegislatorPaul Ryan/Professions

Who is Nigerian speaker?

Femi GbajabiamilaSince 2019Nigeria/Speaker

Who was the Senate majority leader under Obama?

President Obama met Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid and House Speaker John Boehner in the days preceding the deadline but was unable to come to an agreement to pass a budget.

How do we get a new Speaker of the House?

The Speaker is elected at the beginning of a new Congress by a majority of the Representatives-elect from candidates separately chosen by the majority- and minority-party caucuses. These candidates are elected by their party members at the organizing caucuses held soon after the new Congress is elected.

Who is the longest serving senator in Nigeria?

Nigeria’s longest serving senator, David Mark who was president of the 6th and 7th Assembly is from here. David Mark was first elected in 1999 and left at the end of his 5th term in the Senate in 2019 (after serving for 20 years).

Who was the Speaker of the Federal House of Representative in Nigeria in 2013?

Dimeji BankoleSabur Oladimeji BankolePreceded byLaoshe Abraham Lanre, Alliance for Democracy (Nigeria)Succeeded byWilliams Olusegun, Action Congress of NigeriaConstituencyAbeokuta South Federal ConstituencySpeaker of the House of Representatives of Nigeria17 more rows

How long is Speaker of the House term?

The House elects a new speaker by roll call vote when it first convenes after a general election for its two-year term, or when a speaker dies, resigns or is removed from the position intra-term. A majority of votes cast (as opposed to a majority of the full membership of the House) is necessary to elect a speaker.

What is the job of a speaker of the House?

The Speaker of the House is responsible for administering the oath of office to the Members of the U.S. House of Representatives, giving Members permission to speak on the House floor, designating Members to serve as Speaker pro tempore, counting and declaring all votes, appointing Members to committees, sending bills …

Who is the current Speaker of the House of the Philippines?

The incumbent House Speaker is Lord Allan Velasco from Marinduque’s lone district under the 18th Congress of the Philippines, elected on October 12, 2020.

Who is the current Minister of Nigeria?

Current cabinetPortfolioIncumbentTermMinister of State for Labour and EmploymentFestus Keyamo2019–presentMinister of State for PowerGoddy Jedy Agba2019–presentMinister of State for Works and HousingAbubakar D. Aliyu2019–presentMinister of State for EducationChukwuemeka Nwajiuba2015–present41 more rows

Who was the last speaker of the House of Representatives?

Rainey in 1933, at age 72. In most recent election for speaker, held January 3, 2019, the first day of the 116th Congress, members elected Nancy Pelosi to the office. She had previously led the House from January 2007 to January 2011, and is the first woman to serve as speaker.

Can the speaker of the House be impeached?

There are several provisions in the United States Constitution relating to impeachment: Article I, Section 2, Clause 5 provides: The House of Representatives shall choose their Speaker and other Officers; and shall have the sole Power of Impeachment. … The Senate shall have the sole Power to try all Impeachments.

How many senators do we have in Nigeria 2020?

It consists of 109 senators: the 36 states are each divided in 3 senatorial districts each electing one senator; the Federal Capital Territory elects only one senator.

Who is the current Senate President of Nigeria?

The Senate President is second in line for succession to the Nigerian presidency, after the Vice President of Nigeria. The current President of the Senate is Ahmed Lawan.